starplate.blogg.se

I need to make a bootable usb drive on my mac for windows 10
I need to make a bootable usb drive on my mac for windows 10













i need to make a bootable usb drive on my mac for windows 10
  1. #I NEED TO MAKE A BOOTABLE USB DRIVE ON MY MAC FOR WINDOWS 10 MAC OS X#
  2. #I NEED TO MAKE A BOOTABLE USB DRIVE ON MY MAC FOR WINDOWS 10 INSTALL#
  3. #I NEED TO MAKE A BOOTABLE USB DRIVE ON MY MAC FOR WINDOWS 10 UPDATE#
  4. #I NEED TO MAKE A BOOTABLE USB DRIVE ON MY MAC FOR WINDOWS 10 ISO#

#I NEED TO MAKE A BOOTABLE USB DRIVE ON MY MAC FOR WINDOWS 10 ISO#

This approach will be simpler for any other ISO image like Ubuntu or CentOS, so there’s a separate Steps 3-5 for them at the end of the post.

#I NEED TO MAKE A BOOTABLE USB DRIVE ON MY MAC FOR WINDOWS 10 INSTALL#

Since it’s possible to boot and install Windows 10 from USB, that’s what I decided to do: download Window 10 ISO and burn it one of the USB sticks I have. Select Okay and then, to confirm that you’re aware the volume will be erased, click the Erase then create the disk button.I needed to reinstall one of my Windows PCs at home recently, and realised that I only have Windows 7 DVDs, but no Windows 10s. If you’re using a thumb drive that has only 4GB of free space, Lion DiscMaker will remind you that you won’t get a complete of OS X Lion package because there won’t be room for the “additional speech voices” package. Select your flash drive and you should be ready to rock. Select the USB thumb drive option again and when prompted, choose the disk that you’d like to install Lion to. Once you’ve indicated that you want use a bootable drive, the app will ask whether you’d like to use a USB thumb drive or some other kind of disk. Lion DiscMaker makes it easy to create a bootable thumb drive. I prefer keeping Lion on a USB keychain so that I can add files to the USB drive to customize the installation but if you’re just looking for a bootable copy to troubleshoot your hardware, feel free to go with the DVD option and save yourself a little cash.) (If you happen to own a Mac with a disc drive, consider creating a DVD backup of Lion. The app will give you the option of creating a bootable drive out of either a DVD or a USB keychain. Start the Lion DiscMaker app with your USB flash drive plugged in and with the Lion install file sitting inside your application folder. Lion DiscMaker makes this part of the process a snap. You have been warned! Creating Your Bootable Drive Now, before you start formatting your drive, back up anything currently on your flash drive that you’d like to keep–because this process will completely erase the contents of the USB drive and rewrite it with a copy of Lion. Downloading a third-party app just to handle this process is a bit of a bother, but Lion Discmaker enormously simplifies the process of installing Lion on a USB keychain.

i need to make a bootable usb drive on my mac for windows 10

To streamline the process, download the free Lion DiscMaker app.

i need to make a bootable usb drive on my mac for windows 10

If you already own a copy of OS X Lion, you should be able to download a fresh copy at any time from the Purchases tab of the Mac App Store. Once the OS has finished downloading (and you’ve verified that Lion has landed safely in your Applications folder), you’re ready to transfer it to your trusty USB flash drive. During testing it took me about 50 minutes to redownload the 4GB or so of content that comprises Lion. Click the Download button next to Lion, note the directory that it downloads to and wait for the download to finish. From there, you should see OS X Lion as one of your previous purchases. Go into the App Store application and open the Purchases tab at the top of the screen. This is a simple but slightly time-consuming process.

#I NEED TO MAKE A BOOTABLE USB DRIVE ON MY MAC FOR WINDOWS 10 UPDATE#

Unfortunately, the file you download from the Mac App Store to your computer deletes itself after you update to Lion, so you’ll probably need to redownload the OS update. The first step in getting Lion onto your USB drive is to obtain a copy of the OS itself. All you need is a few minutes, a copy of Lion, and a USB flash drive with at least 4GB of storage (though more is preferable).

#I NEED TO MAKE A BOOTABLE USB DRIVE ON MY MAC FOR WINDOWS 10 MAC OS X#

With Mac OS X Lion and a new piece of free software, it’s easier than ever to create a USB keychain that you can boot from. It’s also extremely useful for keeping your basic setup consistent across multiple computers, if you find yourself switching hardware regularly and I’ve had fun in the past setting up a bootable USB keychain loaded with all the apps and files I need to turn any Mac-compatible computer into a viable media center quickly and easily. A bootable Mac OS X thumb drive comes in handy when you need to troubleshoot OS issues for yourself, your family, or your friends.















I need to make a bootable usb drive on my mac for windows 10